What Is the Legal Limit for Window Tint in Ohio?
Updated: Nov 3, 2020
Ohio law enforcement measures window tint with visible light transmission, also called VLT. The rules for window tinting are simple and go according to the type of window. The Ohio window tint law is no less than 50 percent VLT on the driver side and passenger side windows, 70 percent VLT on the windshield, and no requirement for the rear window of backseat windows. Additionally, side mirrors should not be more reflective than a regular window.
It is illegal for car vendors to sell vehicles with window tint that do not meet the visible light transmission requirements. It is also illegal for people to drive these vehicles.
What Is the Darkest Legal Tint?
The window tint laws in Ohio are not as stringent as many other states. The darkest legal Ohio window tint law is 50 percent VLT for the front side windows. Many other states have tint laws that prohibit windows that do not meet 50 percent VLT, mainly for the windshield and the side windows. However, many do allow a free range for backside and rear windows.
New York and Iowa are two states with the strictest window tint law in the United States. Iowa requires 70 percent for the front side windows and any tint for the backside and rear windows. New York has a window tint law that requires 70 percent for all side windows and free-range tint for the rear.
States like Florida are different from Ohio and have much lower requirements. Florida states that drivers must have at least 28 percent VLT on the front windows and at least 15 percent on the back and rear windows.
Why Are There Tinting Laws?
Window tint laws are essential for the safety of law enforcement officers. When they approach vehicles, they need to have some visibility of who is inside. Otherwise, people can stay in the car and cause harm without the officer knowing.
To find violations of the Ohio window tint law, officers use a meter that measures and gauges the level of light transmission. Additionally, vehicles are typically required to have stickers that indicate the level of window tinting on the car windows.
Reasons for Window Tinting
Many car owners invest in window tinting because of looks and safety. Having darker windows looks more appealing to some drivers. The darkness also blocks potential intruders from looking in and seeing any valuables.
Tinted windows are also safer in the event of a car crash. After a collision, windows are likely to break and shatter. With the darker seal of the tint, windows are less likely to break, saving the driver and passenger from cuts and scratches.
What Is the Ohio Punishment for Windows with Tint that Is Too Dark?
If an officer catches a driver who does not follow the window tint laws defined in the Ohio injury laws, then they are charged with a misdemeanor moving violation. Overall, the fees cost about $120 in total. There are no medical exemptions for windows that violate Ohio window tinting laws.
Areas with Different Tinting Laws than Ohio
Arkansas' tint laws are not as strict as those in Ohio. Front and backside windows cannot exceed 25 percent VLT, rear windows cannot go over ten percent, and side mirrors should not have any tinting. The windshield can only have five inches of tint. The side mirrors can have up to 35 percent reflectivity.
The windshield and the front side windows need to have at least 65 percent VLT. The backside and the rear can have any darkness. Although on the other side of the Atlantic, Ireland's tinting laws are similar to those in Ohio.
Disclaimer: The details included in this blog is offered for educational purposes only, and should not be taken as lawful guidance in any way. No recipients of material from this blog, clients or otherwise, should or should not act on the basis of any material consisted in the blog without seeking the appropriate legal or other professional guidance on the particular facts and situations at issue from an attorney accredited in the recipient's state.