The Keating Firm has been purchased by Kisling, Nestico & Redick, a personal injury law firm serving all of Ohio. Visit Site >
top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrad Keating

What Happens If You Don't Report A Car Accident?

A car crash often happens out of nowhere. Whether a driver runs a red light or the drivers fail to notice each other, it results in accidents. Severe injuries can occur, not to mention vehicle and property damage. Everyone involved needs to know what to do in this situation, which includes the police and paramedics at the scene of the accident.

Does one report the accident as soon as possible? It's a good idea to file a report immediately since the insurance company can put forth an auto claim. Not reporting an accident can have detrimental fallout for drivers, however, so don't leave the scene until the police arrive. Here is what needs to be done in this given situation.

Is it illegal to not report an accident?

Is It An Illegal Offence Not To Report A Car Accident?

When a driver is involved in a car crash, it's generally advisable to contact an insurer and let them know what went down. Certain states like California require drivers by law to report to the police. They should also call the DMV within 10 days, especially if the accident involves injury, death, or property and vehicle damage of more than $1,000. The sooner they file a claim, the better.

However, failure to report the accident can result in a misdemeanor or felony charge. Fleeing the scene of the incident could also get the police involved. Even minor injuries are serious issues, let alone vehicle damage and death. Filing a police report is critical since they can access the accident and ensure everyone exchanges contact information.

What Happens If Someone Doesn't Report An Accident To Your Insurance?

Failure to uphold the law could result in legal consequences. Any delays in filing or reporting a car accident are only acceptable with severe injuries that prevent any paperwork. If there is no report made to a local police officer, department of motor vehicles, or insurance company, there are penalties.

Anyone who fails to report a car accident can experience at least six months in county jail, in addition to a $1,000 fine. A driver's license can also be revoked. The suspension of a license means a driver is no longer able to operate vehicles until they get the licenses back.

There are harsher punishments if there is no auto insurer at the time of the crash. Car insurance is required by all drivers in case an accident occurs. They need to report a claim to an insurance company if they are involved in a crash, so do so as soon as possible.

Always report a car accident to a police officer; use a phone to give them a call. Not only is it required by law, but they also need to let everyone assess damage to the vehicles. A lack of reporting leads to severe fines, jail time, and suspension of a license. Make sure there is an insurer on hand, especially when reporting a claim. To not do so can be irresponsible with major ramifications.

When Should One Report an Accident?

How long do you have to report a car accident to your insurance? It's a good idea to report an accident as soon as possible. An accident report must take place within 24 hours or less. It's preferable to do it right away, but not before a careful assessment of the entire situation. This is especially true if you crash a rental car. Reporting to the police about a crash requires everyone to cooperate, even under stressful circumstances. It also takes time for insurance to provide coverage after they file a claim.

Stay at the scene of the crash, pick up the phone, and notify the relevant authorities. If the injuries are too severe, use the phone to call 911. Should the phone occur damage, ask someone on the scene for their phone. File a claim when the injuries are no longer in the way of paperwork.

How To Report A Car Accident To The DMV

To report a car accident within 24 hours, contact the DMV directly. Schedule an appointment after a call is made to the police. File a report to a local officer at the scene of the accident and assess any property damage. Should the police not file a claim for any reason, call the DMV and let them know about the accident.

They have a form known as the Form SR 1. Anyone can fill it out online by entering the necessary information. It includes vehicle registration, insurance company name, and policyholder name. These forms are also used to report traffic accidents, not just serious ones.

Nonetheless, it is the full responsibility of the driver to perform this specific action. Take the time of the day to fill out the entire form. Make it a main priority to avoid financial penalties. The sooner the situation is taken care of, the more free time is available for everyone involved in the process.

How Much Does Auto Insurance Cover In A Car Accident?

Depending on the insurance company, the insurer can provide liability coverage - $15,000 for injuries and $30,000 for death. After they report an accident, the insurance company uses their policies to pay back most of the damages to the vehicle. Insurance is required in all states, so make sure not to drive without one. Liability coverage is critical to maintaining a budget in difficult times.

When Personal Injury Leads To A Lawsuit

A personal injury can be a debilitating experience. Depending on the severity of the injury, it can interfere with daily functions, such as job performance and household chores. It's not fair to the person who experiences these inconvenient hardships. They might feel it's time to file a lawsuit, especially for financial compensation.

Injury claims can be made to a nearby law firm. Attorneys can offer the best legal advice for any personal injury or death caused by a car crash. Once they hear the case, attorneys at a law firm can try to take it to court. They can use the available information from the reports to build a strong case, to the best of their abilities.

Can an attorney win someone a case?

Can An Attorney Win Someone A Case?

Call a lawyer if there is reasonable belief a case can be won. Accidents can potentially lead to injury or death. Many people seek financial compensation for pain and suffering. However, most claims typically involve smaller injuries and property damage. Private legal counsel can advise the best course of action involving accidents. If they can present evidence that suggests the other driver is at fault, they could settle or win a payout.

The United States Department of Justice reports the vast majority of cases are settled -90% to be exact. For the best possible outcome, a settlement should be reached, since most cases have low win rates. Settlements allow for some compensation, which is better than nothing at all.

When consulting with a firm, be mindful of the cost. Good legal representation involves payment only upon winning a car accident case. Report the accident and present accurate information, since this gives the firm something to work with. They can also try to figure out a probable cause of the crash, such as using nearby cameras or eyewitnesses.

Most importantly, make sure to look up online reviews of the firm. The lower a star rating is, the less likely someone can find success in settlements. Always look for competent lawyers based on ratings. However, keep in mind the higher-rated ones might be more expensive. Weigh in the pros and cons of any decision, and think carefully about what to do.

In Full Summary

Many people are involved in an accident every single day. They need to report their car accident as soon as possible, or else they incur penalties without a police report. File a police report within 24 hours. When someone files an accident report, properly assess the situation. Make sure to notify the police and paramedics about potential injuries and property damage. Be transparent in the report to any insurance provider, and call them immediately.

Everyone should have an insurer in place at the time of the car accident. Without an insurer, it poses a problem to anyone who owns the car. Not only can they not file a claim without insurance, but there is also a potential risk for severe penalties. A car accident is a serious situation that involves the police and insurance companies, so stay one step ahead. Report an accident and file an insurance claim afterward.

Once they report the accident, it's a good idea for the driver involved to consider their claims. If the incident involves serious injury, property destruction, or even death, an attorney can represent these cases. Call a local firm to file a claim, or visit their website for more information.

Compensation can be readily available. It all starts when someone can file an insurance claim. For accurate results, make sure the report has all the necessary information for the police to look at. A car accident can be dangerous, but there are ways to maintain responsibility. Always report a car accident to the police before anyone can file a claim.


bottom of page